Tuesday, December 4, 2012

For a long time now followers of the Scratchy Attic have been requesting that I post some King albums by "The Hawk of the West Virginia Hills", Hawkshaw Hawkins. Hawkshaw was born on the 22nd of December, 1921 in Huntington, WV and famously perished in the same plane crash that claimed the lives of Cowboy Copas and Patsy Cline on the 5th of March, 1963.
Hawkins recorded for different labels throughout his career, but his finest recordings were made during his first stint at King from 1946 to 1953. It is those recordings which are featured on these two LP compilations first released in 1958 (the covers shown here are the second editions from 1963). Hawk went from King to RCA Victor in 1953, then to Columbia in 1959. In my opinion, his output for the latter two labels never really matched the quality of his earlier material. He returned to King in 1962 and achieved the only number one chart hit of his career, "Lonesome 7-7203"; ironically it only hit number one a short time after his death.

Click here to see an informative tribute page to Hawkshaw Hawkins.

Hawkshaw Hawkins
"Volume 1" King 587


1. Slow Poke
2. Sunny Side Of The Mountain
3. I'm Kissing Your Picture Counting Tears
4. If I Ever Get Rich Mom
5. Rattlesnakin' Daddy
6. I Am Slowly Dying Of A Broken Heart
7. I Suppose
8. I Can't Tell My Broken Heart A Lie
9. Picking Sweethearts
10. Barbara Allen
11. I Love The Way You Say Goodnight
12. Got You On My Mind
13. Would You Like To Have A Broken Heart
14. Teardrops From My Eyes
15. Somebody Lied
16. I Hope You're Cryin' Too

*download here*

Hawkshaw Hawkins
"Sings Grand Ole Opry Favorites Volume 2" King 592


1. The Life Story Of Hank Williams
2. Blue Skies In Your Eyes
3. Two Roads
4. I'm Waiting Just For You
5. Unwanted
6. Tangled Heart
7. Pardon Me For Loving You
8. You Don't Belong To Me
9. A Heartache To Recall
10. Life Lost Its Color
11. I Hate Myself
12. Loaded With Love
13. All Because Of My Jealous Heart
14. I Wasted A Nickel
15. Handcuffed To Love
16. That's All She Wrote

*download here*


Duke said...

Thank you for adding one of the finest honkytonkers who ever lived to your site there is no boubt in my mind had Hawkshaw lived he would have been huge! Please add more of his his great music and please add some Cowboy Copas too!
I have all of Patsy's music already but Hawshaw and Cowboy are hard to find!

mrmeadowlark said...

I love anything Country put out by the King label. I don't have much King Vinyl in my collection because it is kinda rare, and I only buy the 1970s-era reissues of these albums put out by Gusto, as Gusto tended to use better (and by better I mean Quieter) vinyl than King did. Keep the good stuff coming Lefty :).

mrmeadowlark said...

P.S., I agree with Duke.... and I find it unfortunate that all Copas and Hawkshaw are remebered for today is being on that plane....

Jonathan F. King said...

Thanks for these ... I had a Hawkshaw Hawkins LP when I was first listening to country music 30 years or so ago, and I liked it a lot. Haven't seen much of him online though ... so this is great.

Dirk Bill said...

Anything on King is a complete pleasure. Thanks for posting this.

Duke said...

Would you please refresh the links for Hawkshaw Hawkins and Cowboy Copas?

Blogger said...

Did you know you can shorten your long urls with AdFly and get money from every click on your short urls.

Piotr LA said...

Looks good, thanks for sharing! I wanted to thank you for your time.