MOLLY O'DAY and the Cumberland Mountain Folks

Monday, January 26, 2009

Molly O'Day was one of the very first female stars of country music. She began performing on radio as a teen in the late thirties and by the late forties was one of Columbia's most popular hillbilly artists. At the height of her fame she turned her back on performing and along with her husband/duet partner Lynn Davis, devoted her life to religious endeavors.
The first four tracks in the folder are radio air shots from 1945, a year before Molly made her first records. These are interesting in that all four songs are really material that is outside the scope of what she would go on to commercially record, from the aggressive "Mule Skinner Blues" to the Lulu Belle Wiseman numbers "Goodnight Darling" and "I Wish I Was A Single Girl Again" and on to "Too Late To Worry" which was a tune by Honky-Tonk and Western Swing bandleader Al Dexter. The remainder of the folder comprises of all 36 of the recordings Molly and the Cumberland Mountain folks recorded for Columbia between 1946 and 1952. These feature Molly, her husband Lynn Davis on guitar and vocals, her Brother Skeets Williamson on fiddle, and at times a young Mac Wiseman on bass.

Click here for a biography of Molly O'Day


1. Mule Skinner Blues
2. Goodnight Darling
3. I Wish I Was A Single Girl Again
4. Too Late To Worry
5. The Tramp On The Street
6. When God Comes And Gathers His Jewels
7. The Black Sheep Returned To The Fold
8. Put My Rubber Doll Away
9. The Drunken Driver
10. The Tear Stained Letter
11. Lonley Mound Of Clay
12. Six More Miles
13. Singing Waterfall
14. At The First Fall Of Snow
15. Matthew Twenty-Four
16. I Don't Care If Tomorrow Never Comes
17. A Hero's Death
18. I'll Never See Sunshine Again
19. Too Late,Too Late
20. Why Do You Weep Dear Willow
21. Don't Forget The Family Prayer
22. I Heard My Mother Weeping
23. Mother's Gone But Not Forgotten
24. The Evening Train
25. This Is The End
26. Fifteen Years Ago
27. Poor Ellen Smith
28. Coming Down From God
29. Teardrops Falling In The Snow
30. With You On My Mind
31. If You See My Saviour
32. Heaven's Radio
33. When My Time Comes To Go
34. Don't Sell Daddy Anymore Whiskey
35. Higher In My Prayers
36. Travelling The Highway Home
37. It's Different Now
38. When The Angels Rolled The Stone Away
39. It's All Coming True
40. When We See Our Redeemer's Face

*download here*


Don said...

Molly O'Day is pretty much forgotten these days. It's great that you are reminding us of her music. This is a fine collection enhanced with four additional secular songs from her earlier radio broadcasts. I appreciate that you also credit the other musicians on the recordings.

Thanks for the posting.


bobbysu said...

thank you very much

Joe said...

I too think that it is a sad thing that Molly O'Day is largely overlooked these days. She influenced an entire generation of singers (e.g., Wilma Lee Cooper, Rose Maddox). Thanks for making this available Lefty.

Blogger said...

If you'd like an alternative to randomly dating girls and trying to find out the right thing to do...

If you'd prefer to have women hit on YOU, instead of spending your nights prowling around in crowded bars and restaurants...

Then I urge you to watch this short video to unveil a strong little secret that can literally get you your very own harem of sexy women:

Facebook Seduction System!!!