Sunday, December 21, 2008

I picked up this cassette on the "Holiday" label at a local thrift shop for 25¢. It turned out to be a reissue of the 1962 Apollo LP! Mahalia recorded 1947-1954 for Apollo before going on to achieve international notoriety on Columbia, and Apollo seemingly issued an LP of older material to capitalize on this success.
These are not all specifically Christmas songs, but they are all great performances. The remastering here is crude, as it is on many collections of her Apollo recordings. I imagine when this was put together in '62 they just dropped the needle on some old 78's, but it's still a great find, the original LP must be a scarce item by now.


1. Silent Night, Holy Night
2. Walking In Jerusalem
3. Go Tell It On The Mountain
4. Can Put My Trust In Jesus
5. God Spoke To Me
6. His Eye Is On The Sparrow
7. The Lord's Prayer
8. Come To Jesus
9. He's My Light
10. City Called Heaven
11. Bless This House

*download here*


Gracie Lee said...

I think I love you! ;-) Wonderful, wonderful blog... what gems!

Dirk Bill said...

Dang, this link is dead! Sure would love to hear this if you can re-post it please.